The It List & a yummy summer shake

I’ve raved about Megan McCafferty before. I love the Jessica Darling series. If you haven’t read it, I’ll wrap it up for you right here: Strong young female loves herself enough to pursue her dreams despite boys. But she still loves the boy…. Young girls, we love(d) the boys. Some of us lost ourselves because of it. The Jessica Darling series is a great one for young women. But I have a young girl. And the content of the Jessica Darling series was just not appropriate for her yet.

Enter the prequel: The IT List by Megan McCafferty. Jessica Darling enters seventh grade. She has her best friend. She has her own personal style. She has a sister that was the IT girl of high school. She hasn’t a clue how this is going to turn out.

I enjoyed this prequel much more than other series that have attempted this feat. Frequently, a prequel feels like an attempt to monopolize on a series monetary success. I find that frequently a prequel offers very little to the actual story at all. Why bother?

I found The IT List to be very relevant – needed! I’m able to introduce this strong – though filled with self-doubt – young lady to my young lady when she needs her the most. My tween is just forming the teenager she’s going to be. If I wait until 17 to introduce her to the strong young lady, it’s too late!! Additionally, McCafferty actually ties in real references from the Jessica Darling series. In that series Jessica reflects upon middle school – and then she actually incorporates these references into The IT List. -Proof positive, it’s not an afterthought at all. It’s a wonderful continuation of a story I can get enough of.

So… inspired by the favorite comfort food of Jessica and her best friend, here’s my recipe:

Cap’t Crunch Berry Milk Shake

3/4 cup vanilla ice cream
3/4 cup Cap’t Crunch Berry cereal
1/2 cup milk
5 ice cubes
1/2 t vanilla
2 T sugar

Whip it all up in a blender and enjoy! I topped mine with a little Reddi-Whip. Mmmm.

 

20140518-204536.jpg

Leave a Reply

