Julie & Julia love

Recently, I became one of the last people in the world to read Julie & Julia. Just in case you happen to be the one other person who hasn’t read the book, or seen the movie, I’ll give you a quick recap. Julie is a 29 yo government worker who has fallen short of her potential. She is frustrated and disgruntled. As a coping mechanism, she accepts the suggestion from her husband to start a blog. The blog will document her journey through Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking.

I picked this up from the library. We all know that I love a memoir. A memoir that involves food pretty much seals the deal. I wasn’t disappointed. I think we’ve all experienced that moment of self-actualization. Where are we in life? Is this where I was meant to be? Is this really as good as it gets? Some of us start grad school to become a librarian. Some sell their city home to build a mini-farm in the country. Others start a blog about inappropriate humor. No path to personal happiness is better than another. We’re all just seeking our own genuine experience. So yes, I enjoyed Julie’s adventure. I hated her language. She’s a potty mouth.

I’m not sure if I’ll make an attempt to see the movie though. Movies aren’t really my cup of tea. I can’t stand sitting still that long. Movies made from books I love – usually worse. Not only do I have to sit still through the whole thing, but the surprises are rarely pleasant. But I’m open you recommendations on this. If you’ve read the book and seen the movie, what were your thoughts? Should I see it?

One of the standards of Julie’s mother was Julia Child’s Beef Bourguignon. This was something that she made when an important guest was expected for dinner. It was also something that Julie made at the beginning of her journey. I thought this sounds like a good recipe to have in your back pocket. Then I read the recipe. It’s an awful lot like Coq Au Vin. Well at least if you compare Ina Garten’s Coq Au Vin recipe with her Beef Bourguignon. That endears it to me a bit more. Once in French class I had to make a dish to share. I chose Coq Au Vin because it had wine in it. I busted my hump on that dish. I’m not sure you could tell… but the wine didn’t seem like such a big deal or great idea, when the other kids brought in their Pillsbury crescent rolls wrapped around a square of Heshey’s chocolate or some other cheater item. Apparently, I haven’t matured much but another reason Beef Bourguignon seemed like a great idea is that someone would have to finish off that bottle of red wine needed to make it.

20140120-183527.jpg

Unfortunately, I don’t have the dedication or want-to that Julie has. Frequently throughout the book, she’s up until the wee hours creating culinary masterpieces. I’ve got stuff to do so my Beef Bourguignon is going to have to pull itself together in a crock pot. Is this going to rob me of the glorious-ness of Julia Child’s gift? Perhaps, but I still get the wine. I’ve opted to use the recipe Paleo Crockpot Beef Bourguignon over at My Paleo Crockpot. You can too.

 

Leave a Reply

