Donut miss this post…

Donuts

Orange Soda Cream & Mounds

So I’ve professed my addiction to love for donuts. I really do eat one a day on most days. I can’t help it! I received one of those donut pans for Christmas & I love it! There is no end to the different combinations. And everyone loves donuts! Like cookies, but completely acceptable for breakfast or any time of day.

donutsOf course one of my first things, was to check out as many donut cookbooks as I could find from the library. My absolute favorite has been Baked Doughnuts for Everyone by Ashley McLaughlin. I own it. I’m surprised by this. The book is all gluten free donuts, but don’t think they are all gummy, chewy, tree bark & granola. Nope. These donuts are light, fluffy, and delicious!  Today I made Orange Cream Soda Doughnuts with Orange cream glaze.

1/2 c oat flour
1/2 c rice flour
1/3 c cane sugar
3 T almond meal
3/4 t baking powder
1/2 t salt
2 large eggs
1/3 c orange cream soda
1/4 c unsweetened applesauce
2 T oil
2 t orange zest
1 t vanilla

Combine dry ingredients in small bowl. Combine wet ingredients in a separate bowl. Pour wet into dry. Stir just until combined. Spoon into pans. Bake for 18 – 22 minutes in preheated 350º

I just used a simple powdered sugar & milk glaze with a bit of cream cheese added. I certainly encourage you to check out the book for a whole host of yum!

 

donut by elinor

Today, storms rolled through our corner of the South so we were stuck inside. I passed the time by whipping up something yummy. I wanted to try out a new cookbook, Donuts by Elinor Klivans. I’m sure it’s donuts are fantastic when you fry them, like they suggest. But I bake donuts. So I made their recipe & baked it just to see what would happen. It is delicious and as heavy as a brick. We joke that if someone broke in, I would hit them with it. Then they would tell their friends ‘donut’ mess with that house! But don’t they look fantastic? They are too yummy to toss… so we’ll just have one for breakfast. I’m including a loose recipe here – though if you are new to donuts, especially frying them, please check it out. She explains it all in great detail.

2-1/2 c flour
1-1/2 t baking powder
1/2 t salt
2 large eggs
1/2 c sugar
1/2 c whole milk
2 T butter, melted
1 t vanilla extract

Combine first 3 ingredients in small bowl. Set aside.

Cream together sugar & eggs. Add 1/2 of the dry ingredients. Blend well. Add milk, butter & vanilla. Blend well.

At this point either roll out, cut out & fry. Or bake donut bricks. Use your own best judgement 😉

I topped mine with a chocolate glaze:

2 bars Hershey milk chocolate melted with 2 T butter.

Dip donuts in chocolate glaze then dip in coconut.

Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

