Menu plan for week of 6/2

I am thrilled to report that I have no plan for this week… and that’s my plan 🙂 We have a hectic week of camps and craziness. As luck would have it, this is the week that I discovered Well Fed by Melissa Joulwan. The book has introduced me to her blog, The Clothes Make the Girl, as well. This is just what the doctor ordered! Melissa explains this process that makes perfect sense… restaurants have prep cooks that have everything ready for your order to be cooked. That’s how you can get something completely delish- in an amount of time that you’re willing to make chitchat in a chilly dining room. And she even describes how you can do the same for yourself in less than an hour on the weekend. I’m always up for a challenge and the time limit felt like a challenge to me… not to mention we had some travel this weekend and a book club so time was at a premium this weekend.

Speaking of travel – I traveled to the CSRA Library Conference in Augusta, Georgia this past Friday. I had a wonderful time and met some very inspiring librarians. I am completely motivated and gung-ho on some big projects, if we make it through the throws of summer reading! But boy o boy did they feed me well. I took a picture of lunch but forgot breakfast and snack bar because I was just too busy stuffing my face I guess…

CSRA

My plate consisted of salad, baked ziti, broccoli & brownies. Yummolicious. And a huge shout out to those that planned the menu. As a Catholic that abstains from meat on Fridays, I often find myself struggling to find good eats at events. I love, love, love that I had no worries at the conference!

Now on to my menu for the week, er… prep..

In an hour I was able to chop 1 head of cauliflower, 3 broccoli florets, a pound of carrots, 2 orange peppers, a bunch or two of celery, 3 cucumbers. I also baked 2 pounds of chicken, hardboiled a dozen eggs, ham sandwiches for the kids meals & ground beef. Oh and I washed and prepped a ton of fruit. We have plenty to mix and match over the next couple of days for Melissa’s “hot plates” – read about it 🙂

The cookbook is a fantastic fit for me. I’m always reading a recipe and thinking… that’s a good suggestion, but I’d probably…. in Melissa’s family that’s known as “You Know How You Could Do That?” So who knows what we’ll be eating, but I’m certain it’s going to be something that our family likes.

Leave a Reply

