Bracing for Middle School?

Does your child LOVE Diary of a Wimpy Kid? Us too. Well if you’ve aged out of Diary of a Wimpy Kid, I have he perfect solution:

I have to say when I started this book, I struggled to get behind it. I thought, I can’t recommend this book to middle schoolers! This boy is the poster child of bad decisions!! I heard myself lecturing my daughter about all of the bad choices this boy is making and how we are far smarter and superior because we recognize not only his poor judgement but horrible selection in friends as well! But this is James Patterson we’re talking about. He’s a master of the craft. I couldn’t just discard his work without giving it a fair shake. Boy, am I glad I did! The plot twists are phenomenal. He resists the urge to become preachy and teach a lesson. Certainly a great read for reluctant readers but don’t underestimate it’s value for all middle school readers. The main character struggles with some universal middle school issues: parents, teachers, rules, bullies, academic stress, social pressures… it’s endless. And his momma makes it better with extra cinnamon apple pie. Here’s my lazy momma version:

apples

Lazy Momma  Cinnamon-y Apple Pie:

1 apple, peeled and sliced

1 T brown sugar

1 – 2 t butter

1 t cinnamon

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl. Microwave until apples are soft, about 1 -2 minutes.

Leave a Reply

