Post-Christmas Meal Planning

I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas! Ours was blessed for certain. Here’s what I cooked up this holiday:

soapLooks good enough to eat right? I wouldn’t recommend it! It’s Chocolate Peppermint soap. I love handmade soap. In a previous life, I owned a soap making business. I used to whip up 5 to 10 pounds of soap 2 or 3 times per week. These days, maybe once or twice per year. I love to have it on hand for those last minute holiday gifts. I hope that following graduation – in oh say 17 weeks!!!! – I’ll have more time for hobbies. Remember those? Yea, me either 😉

I did find myself over indulging in sweets a bit much. Which is one reason why this…

practical paleo

was so exciting to find under the Christmas tree! Does Mr. Hero know how to make me happy or what? Have you checked out Practical Paleo yet? Well, you haven’t had the opportunity if you are a patron at my library… because I keep renewing! But good news for everyone else… I now have my own copy!!! Yay!!! **I’m actually excited enough to show you a real live picture from Christmas morning, sockmonkey pajamas and all.**

Here’s my week of recovery from holiday indulgence…

Saturday – Salmon & Gouda quiche

Sunday – Mustard Glazed Chicken Thighs, Green salad

Monday – Grilled steak w/ peppers & onions and snacks for the late night: roasted chick peas, popcorn, veggie plate for me

Tuesday – Pork & Sauerkraut for good luck!

Wednesday – Meatloaf burgers and veggies

Thursday – Fish and roasted sweet potatoes

Friday – Cheesy pizzas

Saturday – Baked chicken legs & garlic pasta with peas

Treat for the week: Banana Oatmeal Cookies

So are you in holiday recovery mode too? Or do you continue the holiday indulging all of the way through New Years? Or better yet, do you not over indulge at all?

6 thoughts on “Post-Christmas Meal Planning

  1. My you have been busy! Lovely! And the soap looks/sounds fabulous! I’d love to try making soap some day 🙂 I am indulging somewhat at the moment and conveniently blaming it both on my pregnancy and the holidays 😉 2013 will be a comparatively healthy year, I am sure! Happy New Year to you!

    • Most of the recipes are from the paleo cookbook, but not the quiche. That is a yearly after Christmas tradiiton. Each year for Christmas day I set out a huge basket full of breakfast and lunch gourmet items. Hey, I want to enjoy Christmas morning too 😉 Then in the days after, I have to use up what wasn’t eaten. Noone ever eats the salmon or all of the cheese. So I always throw it in a quiche!

  2. I just found your blog this morning, and don’t know how I missed out on all the good recipes you’ve posted. I use unscented soap (boring!) and I thought the photo was fudge at first, too. I over-indulge in sweets over the holidays, and tried a new recipe for maple-walnut fudge that I could have eaten the whole amount of. Paleo diet is not for me, but I’ll cut back on indulging after New Year’s. First, though, I have some cocktail and appetizer recipes to try for tonight!

Leave a Reply

